Archive for March 18th, 2009

h1

Captain America

March 18, 2009

This is my new nickname. It was actually waiting for me when I got here. It is pretty awesome to represent a whole nation.  There are 3 or so American girls, who have moved here, but I am the only American dude around.  In the states I always love to fake accents from around the world, but here talking normal is my cool accent.  I was told I sound like Tom Hanks the other day 🙂

It has been exactly two weeks since I arrived here in South Africa.  The church here is amazing. I have fit right in to the culture. I even have played soccer twice.  I am the only one without soccer cleats (or boots here in SA). It has made it quite challenging to play, but my two years of soccer 20 years ago have really helped 🙂 .

Teaching this 1st grade class has been quite difficult.  These kids don’t have much structure or discipline in their lives at home, so it is hard to impliment that in class.  If you have any advice, please give it to me. I wish I took at least one education course in my 5 years of college.  It’s not what I thought I’d be doing, but this is the task that God has set before me. 

It’s been raining here a lot the last few days. It has made “Olibush” (the community I teach in), a horror. The town is completely made of dirt roads. Driving to school yesterday looked like we were off-roading in a creek bed with a compact car.  My classroom was ok, but the younger kids all had to jam into one room, because water was seaping into their room from under the wall. 

My 3rd favorite thing in the world, the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament, starts today. (1st obviously Jesus and 2nd is going to the bathroom when you really really need to). Go Bruins! I don’t think I’ll be able to watch the games, but who knows. Blessings to all, and to all a good morning.