h1

Just Like Riding A Bike

September 29, 2009

So I guess the saying is true.  I hadn’t really ridden a bike in years, but cycled across a country this past weekend. Yes, you read correctly, although it was the tiniest part, I cycled back and forth across Mozambique. 

Along with my two friends Marc and Tony, I cycled 220 kilometers total and traveled on train probably 5 times that.  It was a great time for us to spend our school holiday just to get away, have an adventure, grow closer to God and each other.  We cycled from the South African border to Maputo, the capital city of Mozambique.  We got to spend a few days relaxing, experiencing the culture, and getting to meet a bunch of amazing people.  Also the whole weekend we were stared at. You see Marc is 6’4”, Tony is 6’6”, and I am 6’7”.  Plus our new friend Stella took us where not a whole lot of other white people were. It was hilarious as people wanted to shake our hands and Marc even had a request to have a picture taken with him. I guess they thought we were famous. 

I especially loved the times on the road.  It was so cool to see kids come out from their huts in the middle of nowhere to come wave at us.  I had some great times just thinking about the future, praising God for His creation, and singing at the top of my lungs.  I definitely had a  ” I can’t believe I get to live this life” moment a few times during our trip.  I’m very glad to have a few weeks of school holiday left, before I head back to school. 

9428_157493796088_504341088_2774825_7234362_n

9428_157495031088_504341088_2774881_2250556_n

One comment

  1. SO AWESOME! What a cool experience. John and I have been cycling a lot more since we have been home and would love to do a longer cycle like that. Way to go! How’s your bum? hahaha…



Leave a Reply

