h1

When the World Ends

December 20, 2008

The other night I went to dinner with my co-workers. As we were sitting around the table, my boss had the idea to ask each one of us what we would do if the world would end tomorrow.  I don’t know why, but I guess this is dinner table conversation in their house.  I knew what I would say, but didn’t know if I should say it.  She came to me first very interested in what I had to say. “For fun or what I would actually do?” I asked her.  “What would you really do?” she said.  “Well, I would go out and talk to people about Jesus.”  I wasn’t ashamed to say it, or even that nervous. I am just not sure if this is right way to share the gospel with everyone at my work….at the same time.  I didn’t want to sound hokey, but I wanted to be honest. 

This led to a further conversation about what type of Bible I use and somehow led to the Dead Sea Scrolls. I am really glad the conversation happened.   I am just hoping I did more good than harm.  How do you share with those at your work or with others in your life?  I guess there is not one way that will be the same for everyone.

One comment

  1. Thats really cool that by you saying you would tell others about Jesus that it led to further conversation. I am always worried that by saying that, the conversation will end.

    I know exactly what you mean when you say you dont know if that is the best way to share the gospel…I think the major concern, well maybe it is just my hesitation, is is that I want to be sure I am living the gospel and showing people love. I guess I doubt myself sometimes that I am not the best example of Christ and I dont want to further the assumption that Christians are hypocrites.

    Anyways, to answer your question, I try to live out my faith and live in love so that when the opportunity to talk to others about Christ arises, my words are more valid. who knows if this method is even effective, I am sure I should talk to others about God more, but I also think it is important to have a balance.



Leave a Reply

