h1

Tips for a Young Pastor

November 20, 2008

Even though I am headed to Africa for the next few years, I feel called to be a Senior Pastor one day. In my free time, I have been reading books on leadership and pastoring. I am also reading a ton of blogs and listening to podcasts on those subjects as well.  I came across a blog by Craig Groeschel, pastor of LifeChurch.tv.  He shares 40 leadership tips for young pastors. I am going to share some of my favorites.

  • Life is short. Make every day count for God’s glory.
  • God called you because He is good, not because you are.
  • If you blame yourself for bad results in ministry, you’ll likely also take credit for the good results.
  • Err on the side of generosity.
  • Hire staff members that you like.
  • Don’t just delegate responsibility, delegate authority.
  • Talk about Jesus every time you preach.
  • Always be caught speaking well of others.
  • Love your wife more than you love the church.
  • Don’t return emails angry.
  • When you suffer and hurt because of ministry, worship Jesus all the more.
  • Believe in people that others overlook.
  • If you’re going to reach people that others aren’t, you’ll have to do things that others won’t.

and my favorite one

  • Laugh frequently.
2 comments

  1. I wanna hear about Africa – what’s the deal? Where ya goin’? Sounds amazing.


  2. So seriously… if i hadn’t read your blog today before going to worship team practice, i think i would be so pissed off at God right now. This line was like amazinggg for me “God called you because He is good, not because you are. ”
    Gosh, it’s so true. In general, I suck. But God didn’t call me to lead worship because I’m awesome at it, He called me cuz I can give Him glory. And in my weakness…. His power is made perfect. (2 Corinthians 12:9)
    Thanks pal.



Leave a Reply

