h1

Numb

October 9, 2008

“Cause my comfort would prefer for me to be numb, and avoid the impending birth of who I was born to become.”   Brooke Fraser

So many things in our society today revolve around our personal comfort.  Whether it be from the type of mattress we have, to the speed at which we have our dinner, to the temperature at which we set our thermostat in our homes.  Whenever we feel any type of pain, we try not to feel it anymore.  If we have a headache, we take medication to make the pain go away.  If we have a rough day at work, we sit in front of the TV and lose ourselves in the lives of meaningless characters, trying to forget the problems of our own.  There are countless of other examples of us trying to do away with pain.  Sometimes it is best for us to be numb (surgery perhaps),  but I think sometimes pain is good.  God might even cause us pain on purpose. I am not saying that God wants to hurt us or make us suffer for shear enjoyment.  Pain and suffering is what Jesus went through on the cross.  I think going through pain, whether physical or emotional, God draws us closer to himself.  Being close to God should be the ultimate goal in life.  Through our pain God is comforming us to His Son’s likeness.  Trying to numb this pain, like the song says, will “avoid the impending birth of who I was born to become”.     I also love C.S. Lewis’ quote about pain, “ God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks to us in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: It is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”  So take a good look at your life and try to see where you need to numb your pain, or where you need to embrace it and run to God. He might be shouting at you!

2 comments

  1. Thanks Taylor,

    “ God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks to us in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: It is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”

    “So take a good look at your life and try to see where you need to numb your pain, or where you need to embrace it and run to God. He might be shouting at you!”

    I think this is so true. My father passed away on October 2nd and I truely needed to just run to God but I kept busy. It was so easy to keep busy the first week when traveling to Texas for his passing making arrangements for the memorial and meeting realtives I haven’t met before but I really kept numb.

    It’s an excellent reminder of where I need to run to. Sometimes though we need a break from facing the harsh realities of our pain in those times and need that numb just to get through. It wasn’t until I slowed down that I faced the reality and just was still with Him that I could hear Him shouting at me to run to Him with my pain.


  2. Oh how I love Brooke Fraser. Especially her C.S. Lewis song. But this reminds me of the verse from Psalm 34:18… about how the LORD is close to the brokenhearted. God is closest to us in our pain. This is good. You’re wise.



Leave a Reply

