h1

The Gospel According to Mr. Miyagi

August 20, 2008

So I was watching the Karate Kid the other day and something occurred to me.  Most of us are familiar with the term “wax on, wax off.” It comes from one of the different tasks that Mr. Miyagi has Daniel do in the movie.  To Daniel it seems like Mr. Miyagi just has him do all of his chores for him, but Mr. Miyagi is getting him prepared for karate.  These tasks like sanding the floor and painting the fence are strengthening Daniel’s muscles and getting him used to the different karate techniques.  This is kind of how God trains us.  He puts us in situations where we don’t understand everything, but he is preparing us for the future.  I usually don’t like to blog about stretched metaphors, but I thought this one was pretty sweet. 

And now prepare yourself for the greatest musical sequence in cinematic history:

3 comments

  1. “He puts us in situations where we don’t understand everything, but he is preparing us for the future. I usually don’t like to blog about stretched metaphors, but I thought this one was pretty sweet.”
    Catching up on your blog today.. Thanks for the metaphor… It’s a good one I needed to hear today. I love 80’s movies. I just saw Mamma Mia. Totally reminded me of an 80’s movie. It’s LOL funny with Abba to boot.. Oh I guess I should say ha ha for you.(facebook stat awhile back) Keep chatting about how your Africa is coming along. God Bless you Michele


  2. Whats your e-mail love?


  3. Who me?



Leave a Reply

