h1

Home Run Sized Grace

July 15, 2008

I know most of you didn’t watch the Home Run Derby last night, so let me just tell you of something that was just another milestone to an already amazing story.  Josh Hamilton of the Texas Rangers hit 28 home runs IN THE FIRST ROUND! The next closest competitor hit 8.  This was the most anyone had ever hit in a single round ever.  This is a great part of this guy’s story, but he would probably tell you it doesn’t even compare to what God has done for him.  He was drafted #1 out of high school less than a decade ago.  In 2004 he was suspended the entire season for using drugs.  This was actually good for him. He moved in with his grandmother who eventually led him to turn his life to God, which turned his life around. 

Hamilton is the frontrunner for the American League MVP this season, but that is not even close to what’s important to him.  After hitting 28 home runs in one round of the derby, he said, “How am I here? I can only shrug and say, ‘It’s a God thing,’ It’s the only possible explanation.”  He later said, “Baseball is third in my life right now, behind my relationship with God and my family,”  “Without the first two, baseball isn’t even in the picture.”

I am definitely looking forward to see how God continues to work in this guy’s life.

3 comments

  1. Wow thats amazing! I never knew that. He is #1


  2. turn it around! israel houghton style


  3. I read an article about him a year or so ago when he was still in Cincinatti(?). I kept the article. Actually I took the whole magazine right out of the Tumwater Jiffy Lube where I was getting my oil changed. I will find it and send it to you. You’ll really like it. The depth of his circumstances where incredible. God is SOOOOO much bigger than this world.



Leave a Reply

