h1

My Daily Bread

July 7, 2008

Ok, I know almost every post is about Francis Chan or Brooke Fraser, but these people are rocking my world lately.  You got to check out Francis Chan’s latest blog post. You can click on my blogroll to see it.  He talks about Proverbs 30:7-9.  “Two things I ask of you, O LORD;  do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread.  Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’ Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God.” This is so good. So many of us mostly pray for God’s financial blessing in our lives.  We pray to be rich and safe. Remember what they say about Aslan, “No, he isn’t safe, but he is good.” Imagine how much closer to God we would be if we had to rely on him everyday for food or other things to live on. That’s one of the reasons I want to go to Africa. I want to get out of the routine, where I really don’t need God. I have my parents to fall back on if I run out of money. I have medicine to take if I get sick.  I struggle with finding the balance between living radically for God, but not turning into the leader of some crazy cult.

Check out this video. It’s one of my favorites.

You have to follow the link.

http://www.godtube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=12b936bd65e203dc675c

2 comments

  1. dude i’ve seen him before. he’s really cool.

    you don’t have to escape your surrounding to escape routine. That comes with Choice. Do you think that God will Honor you more if you have the choice of using medicine or the choice to fall back on your parents but you rely solely on God. Not to test him but because you love him.

    Intimate Prayer with the Holy Spirt and Jesus will help you find the balance.

    walk against the grain. Be subversive.


  2. keep it coming my ladskis ma dadskis..have you heard of andy houltberg? he was the camp speaker…so rad.



Leave a Reply

