h1

Quiet You with My Love

April 11, 2008

If you know me at all you know that I love babies.  Whenever there is one around, I have to take a turn holding them.  It’s kind of funny thing that such a large dude (6’7″ 215 pounds) becomes a puddle of goo with a little 4 month old.  Last night I got to hang with two babies, Juliet and Caleb.  What a great night it was. Caleb had some issues later in the night, when mom and dad left him in the care of his grandma for about an hour and a half.  She is an amazing grandma visiting from Texas, but Caleb continued to cry for about an hour. 

I gave Grandma Emmit a rest and told her I would take a shot at getting him to stop crying.  I held him for a few minutes, bouncing him up and down, but he continued to cry.  I then started rubbing his back, praying over him, and started to sing to him.  “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to him belong, they are weak but He is strong.” I continued to sing, “Jesus loves you Caleb.” All of a sudden he stopped crying and began to fall asleep.  It was truly awesome.  It reminded me of Zephaniah 3:17.  “The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”  It is so awesome to remember that God does not sit in heaven striking us down whenvever we mess up.  He delights in us.  When we are crying out to him in pain, He is quieting our hearts with His love, and rejoicing over us with singing.  I can’t wait until I have kids.  I think then I will have a better understanding of how much God loves us. 

3 comments

  1. AH. true that. thats straight truth.


  2. that is so tight!! I love when the Lord reveals His love to us like that!!!


  3. So Sweet.. I love to sing it in French. His love is beautiful and sweetest in the simplest of things. GBY Michele



Leave a Reply

