h1

Clarity vs. Trust

April 9, 2008

I often ask God what he wants me to do and what are the steps I need to take.  It would be so easy (and awesome in my opinion) for God to just email the next things He wants me to do.  Brennan Manning shares this story that helps me when I don’t know what to do.

“When John Kavanaugh, the noted and famous ethicist, went to Calcutta, he was seeking Mother Teresa … and more. He went for three months to work at “the house of the dying” to find out how best he could spend the rest of his life.

When he met Mother Teresa, he asked her to pray for him. “What do you want me to pray for?” she replied. He then uttered the request he had carried thousands of miles: “Clarity. Pray that I have clarity.”

“No,” Mother Teresa answered, “I will not do that.” When he asked her why, she said, “Clarity is the last thing you are clinging to and must let go of.” When Kavanaugh said that she always seemed to have clarity, the very kind of clarity he was looking for, Mother Teresa laughed and said: “I have never had clarity; what I have always had is trust. So I will pray that you trust God.”

This story is really helping me to not always pray to God for answers, but to cling to Him, because He is the Answer.  This seems pretty basic, but is very profound in my opinion. I pray that YOU would trust God.

4 comments

  1. If you are interested in learning more about Mother Teresa’s teachings, I have written a book, Mother Teresa: The Case for The Cause. My book is an intensively researched book exploring the faith and morals of Mother Teresa as compared to Catholic and Christian standards. My book is also unique in that there is no book currently in print that explores the faith Mother Teresa practiced in light of the faith she professed.

    Peace & Grace,
    Mark M Zima


  2. true that..i would like to speak with this masha teresa..and stay away from the cheeseburger.


  3. Word. that is so good bro! I am repenting right now as I sit in starbucks. Keep trusting in Him. Love you bromie!!


  4. [...] for my future and was thinking about a story I blogged about a few months ago.  Check it out here (http://taylorlyall.wordpress.com/2008/04/09/clarity-vs-trust/).  I was asking God for clarity, but then I remembered the story and knew that He wanted me just [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

